Chapters Divisions and Groups

Contact Us

The National Federation of the Blind is a national organization with 50,000 members, and has affiliates in all 50 states, Washington DC and Puerto Rico.

NFB of Utah

Everette Bacon, President

Phone 801-463-6632

Salt Lake County Chapter

President: Mark Turley

801-572-7607 e-mail,

1st Vice President: Ken Duke


2nd Vice President:Jennifer Kennedy


Correspondence Secretary: James Bybee


Recording Secretary: Melissa Heck


Treasurer: Karl Smith


Board Member: Stephanie Cordova


Board Member: Deja Powell


Board Member: Jodi Duke


July 2017 Bowling Fund Raiser, 1:00 PM, Saturday, July 29, 2017

All Star Bowling Lanes, 10535 S State St., Sandy, Utah

Come join us for a great time during this fun event.  Winners will receive nice prizes and everybody gets a chance to win lots of great door prizes!  In addition, we will have a 50/50 “Strike it Rich!” pot.

Pre-registration $25 or $30 day of event per person.  Covers 3 games and shoe rental.  GREAT DEAL!  Register as a team of 4 members or individuals will be assigned to a team.

**  Credit or debit cards accepted **

You’ll be able to pre-register for $25 and guarantee a spot on a team using your credit/debit card by calling Jodi Duke (Salt Lake board member)  at (801) 792-6455.  OR, Day of event will be $30 per person.  Bring cash or credit/debit card.

Please RSVP as soon as possible if you or a team would like to join

To RSVP or for questions, call: Ken Duke – (801) 330-0581 or email:

Chapter Meetings: 4th Saturday, 11 am, DSBVI 250 North 1950 West Salt Lake City

Weber/Davis Chapter

President: William Black

cell 801-450-2254, e-mail:

Vice President: Jerry Nealey

Cell: 904-566-4773, e-mail:

Secretary: Cheralyn Creer

cell: 801-651-5504

Treasurer: Barbie Elliott

cell 801-513-8552

Board Member: Marnie West

cell 801-505-2688

Board Member: JC Dabb

Board Member: Dean Ferreare

cell 801-725-5229

The Weber/Davis Chapter meets on the third Saturday of the month, at 10:45 am at the American Legion at the Layton FrontRunner station-128 South Main Street, Layton, Utah

Utah Valley Chapter

President: Laura Vincent

cell 801-602-5638

Vice President: Jare Mendenhal

cell 949-606-4265

Secretary: Lauren Mortensen

Cell 385-207-8958

Treasurer: Steve Phelps

Board Member: Chelsea Peahl

Board Member: Milton Taylor

The Utah Valley Chapter regularly meets on the Third Saturday of each month at 10:00 am in the Storytelling Wing of the Orem Public Library.

Red Rocks Chapter

President: Myrna Bell

cell 619-820-2202, e-mail:

Vice President: Sharon Hinson

home 435-652-9717 e-mail:

Secretary: Karen Sliwinski

cell 435-817-1954, e-mail:

Treasurer: Robert Olsen

cell 801-404-6339, e-mail:

Board Member: Helen Eckman

cell 907-631-2707, e-mail:

Board Member: Kay Hart

cell 435-674-0871, e-mail:

Board Member: Milo Waddoups

home 435-628-5210, e-mail:

Board Member: Jackie Walters

home 801-628-7355, e-mail:

The Red Rocks Chapter normally meets on the 3rd Saturday of the month at The Red Rock Center for Independence, 168 North 100 East, St. George, Utah.

Cache Valley Chapter

President: Aaron Timm,

cell 435-770-9498 e-mail:

Vice President: Macedonio Damian

Treasurer: Amy Blakely

Secretary: Shawn Payne

Board Member: Ulvia Guadarrama

The Cache Valley chapter meets every third Saturday in the Bonneville Room of the Logan City library, at 1:00pm.


Project Strive Program Directors:
Cheralyn Creer, M.Ed. Special Education
Barbie Elliott: Home Management Instructor at DSBVI

Deja Powell

Spanish Division
President: Ulvia Guadarrama,


Parents Division
President: Jerry Phelps
Vice President: Tara Pursel, e-mail:

Student Division
President: Chelsea Peal, cell 435-262-7909

Bell Academy, Braille Enrichment for Literacy and Learning

Wendy Bybee

801 965-1113

Deaf Blind Advocacy contact

Ramona Rice 801-430-8833

Guide Dog questions please contact

Tina Haskin 630-335-2280


If there are questions or updates to this page, please email Jerry Nealey